ARC Review – In a New York Minute

In a New York Minute by Kate Spencer

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Heat Level: 🔥

Release Date: March 15, 2022

Publisher: Forever

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.


SYNOPSIS

A clever, tender, and romantic novel for readers of Christina Lauren, Jasmine Guillory, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen…In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?


REVIEW

Franny is having a total crapshoot of a day. She thinks she’s getting a promotion, but actually gets let go. And if that isn’t bad enough – her favorite dress rips right down her back on the subway. But as luck has it a kind stranger offers his jacket. The two have a connection, but think they’ll never see each other again. Except…as fate would have it – they’re an internet sensation and go viral on Instagram! When they finally meet – will that chemistry still be present or are they better off as strangers?

The meet cute in In A New York Minute was so cute! I was immediately sucked into the storyline between Hayes and Franny. These two were so opposite, and yet they hit it off in a busy subway in New York. The lead up to them finally meeting again was so much fun. I loved the friendship between Franny, Cleo and Lola! Their text messages, impromptu meetings and how they were always there for one another was such a wonderful part of the book.

I do feel like the second half of the book was a little bit slower moving than the first half. I did enjoy the slow progression of friends to lovers between Franny and Hayes. Their friendship felt true and the way they showed little bits and pieces of themselves to one another was so charming.

If you’re looking for a sweet romance with a group of friends at its core – grab your copy of In A New York Minute when it releases!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s